The best moments from our happy travellers

Experiencing a city through the eyes of a host can make the difference between a nice trip and an unforgettable one. Every review below is submitted by a real City Unscripted guest.

review slide #1

“WOW WOW WOW! We had a 10-hour private tour of Hong Kong with Victor and it was truly amazing. In addition to the usual tourist sites that we asked to see, he had a bevy of suggested stops along the way. Many “hidden gems” indeed, places we would never have thought of. From the lunch suggestion (a tiny noodle place jammed with locals, the only tourists being us), to the various markets, to the hilltop views, and the public housing projects, we saw parts of HK we wouldn’t have imagined.”

Review by Rick P
March 2019
review slide #2

“Olga was superb! A+ She was on time and flowed so easily with a deep knowledge of Amsterdam's incredible history and its notable sites, monuments and art installations. I requested to see as much as possible and we covered the entire city center, on foot; in about 6 hours. It's really something to feel that confident and relaxed in a foreign city!! Olga was my best friend for a day... and I'll never forget her or beautiful Amsterdam!”

Reviewed by Colin K
March 2019
review slide #3

“My 12 year old daughter and I went on a restaurant tasting tour with Myriam and were absolutely blown away. The food was incredible, but what made the day great was Myriam herself. She is a soulful person who clearly understands and loves the city of Paris. She took the time to get connected to what we wanted to experience and led us to places that both surprised and delighted us. My daughter now has a deeper love for Paris and we have a new family friend. We cannot recommend Myriam highly enough!”

Reviewed by Donte H
March 2019
review slide #4

“We were privileged to share two days with Noriko exploring Tokyo. Intelligent, intuitive, well traveled, yet a native of Tokyo, Noriko was the perfect guide. Her wealth of knowledge about the past and current events in the city was just what we needed. She took us to the sites we requested, always offering great tips and suggestions of what to see and experience in the vast city. Noriko is a delight and after only two days, we felt like friends. This is the only way to go! No bus tours and shopping excursions. Your precious time will be spent just as you like.”

Reviewed by Robin B
March 2019
review slide #5

“I carefully scoured the internet examining several Mexico City food tours. It was important to me that we try the unique hidden gems, and small family places, that really show the true flavor and character of Mexico. Roberto Vilchis not only surpassed my culinary hopes, but is also an extremely knowledgeable guide and super-nice, energetic guy! And, where guidebooks and personal recommendations boasted about the best carnitas in the city, Roberto introduced us to a particular spot that actually serves carnitas tacos with the bone still loosely attached to the meat. I can’t wait to return to Mexico City and have Roberto resume our culinary adventures!”

Reviewed by Jim S
February 2019

Happy Travellers

Eat Like A Local in Greenwich Village NY

“Great experience trying great food!”

March 2020

Reviewed by Fernando P , hosted by Ross

Exploring a great city

We had a great day with Hirotake, whose superb English enabled us to learn a lot more about the city on our day out. We visited a wide variety of places, from shrines to a matcha café, posh department stores to a shop selling cheap second hand kimonos (well, we had to buy one!) and a boat trip on the river. We walked all day and enjoyed every minute.

March 2020

Reviewed by Neil R , hosted by Hirotake

Wonderful all-day experience!

I loved my tour with Priscilla! We worked together to create an itinerary, and she did a great job of helping me make the most of my two days in Singapore. I was traveling alone, so it was nice to have a knowledgeable guide and companion. She showed me how to use the transit, and I was able to pay if forward the next day. Plus, she took suggested photo spots and took my picture, which was a fun add. She even had tickets to sell to me for attractions, so that I wouldn\'t have to wait in line, which was another added bonus. My only recommendation would be to ask for the additional costs in advance. I ran out of cash by the end of the tour. (There are plenty of ATMs; it wasn\'t huge deal.)

March 2020

Reviewed by Linnae S , hosted by Priscilla

Half day Tokyo heaven

Hiro was FANTASTIC! He had a great personality, was engaging in conversation and knew the best spots to visit. I didn\'t want the tourist experience, qnd he totally understood that. My only regret was being a bit quiet (jetlag is a bummer!) After asking us a bit about what we were looking forward to, he showed us how to navigate the JR system (a skill useful for the rest of the trip) and took us to the most amazing place for lunch. Jen said she missed him in the following days - he was great company. If this is your first time to Japan, or if you want a local experience, I can\'t recommend himhim, or this service, higher. It was worth every penny and then some. All the best Hiro - it was so great meeting you!

March 2020

Reviewed by Ruby O , hosted by Hirotake

Highly recommend

Our guide was both kind and competent. She accommodated our very specific and probably unusual itinerary to orient a new student to the area. I can\'t recommend highly enough having a local guide in an unfamiliar city, especially for travelers who don\'t speak the language. It is an absolute must! I will look for a local guide wherever I go in the future and hope they are as kind as Oki.

March 2020

Reviewed by Kathleen S , hosted by Oki

Great introduction to Brussels!

We visited Brussels in early March 2020. Our first afternoon, we had our tour with Ricardo, who was a wonderful tour guide and city host! He was so wonderful with his communication before we arrived - he emailed with us several times before our arrival to coordinate our tour. Although it was cold and rainy, that didn\'t stop us. We walked most of the city, and got some great lessons in the local culture, history, restaurants and other points of interest. All in the the brief 3 hours we were together! A great start to our visit. Most of all, Ricardo was just overall a lovely host. Informative, kind, friendly and easy-going. Don\'t hesititate to book this tour - you won\'t regret it.

March 2020

Reviewed by Heather M , hosted by Ricardo

Featured in