The best moments from our happy travellers

Experiencing a city through the eyes of a host can make the difference between a nice trip and an unforgettable one. Every review below is submitted by a real City Unscripted guest.

“WOW WOW WOW! We had a 10-hour private tour of Hong Kong with Victor and it was truly amazing. In addition to the usual tourist sites that we asked to see, he had a bevy of suggested stops along the way. Many “hidden gems” indeed, places we would never have thought of. From the lunch suggestion (a tiny noodle place jammed with locals, the only tourists being us), to the various markets, to the hilltop views, and the public housing projects, we saw parts of HK we wouldn’t have imagined.”

Review by Rick P
March 2019

“Olga was superb! A+ She was on time and flowed so easily with a deep knowledge of Amsterdam's incredible history and its notable sites, monuments and art installations. I requested to see as much as possible and we covered the entire city center, on foot; in about 6 hours. It's really something to feel that confident and relaxed in a foreign city!! Olga was my best friend for a day... and I'll never forget her or beautiful Amsterdam!”

Reviewed by Colin K
March 2019

“My 12 year old daughter and I went on a restaurant tasting tour with Myriam and were absolutely blown away. The food was incredible, but what made the day great was Myriam herself. She is a soulful person who clearly understands and loves the city of Paris. She took the time to get connected to what we wanted to experience and led us to places that both surprised and delighted us. My daughter now has a deeper love for Paris and we have a new family friend. We cannot recommend Myriam highly enough!”

Reviewed by Donte H
March 2019

“We were privileged to share two days with Noriko exploring Tokyo. Intelligent, intuitive, well traveled, yet a native of Tokyo, Noriko was the perfect guide. Her wealth of knowledge about the past and current events in the city was just what we needed. She took us to the sites we requested, always offering great tips and suggestions of what to see and experience in the vast city. Noriko is a delight and after only two days, we felt like friends. This is the only way to go! No bus tours and shopping excursions. Your precious time will be spent just as you like.”

Reviewed by Robin B
March 2019

“I carefully scoured the internet examining several Mexico City food tours. It was important to me that we try the unique hidden gems, and small family places, that really show the true flavor and character of Mexico. Roberto Vilchis not only surpassed my culinary hopes, but is also an extremely knowledgeable guide and super-nice, energetic guy! And, where guidebooks and personal recommendations boasted about the best carnitas in the city, Roberto introduced us to a particular spot that actually serves carnitas tacos with the bone still loosely attached to the meat. I can’t wait to return to Mexico City and have Roberto resume our culinary adventures!”

Reviewed by Jim S
February 2019

Happy Travellers

The REAL Floating Gardens

Our day with Alan Tanus was wonderful! Not only was he completely accommodating, but he was also incredibly knowledgeable, accessible and so much fun to be with. We had a unique, “untouristy” experience and we truly felt that we got to experience the real Xochimilco with its rich history and wonderful people. (not the tourist trap on the other side of the lake) I cannot praise him enough and I will most definitely be looking for City Unscripted in my future travels. My only regret is that we met Alan on our last day here—I would have definitely booked more experiences with him.

January 2020

Reviewed by Nancy C , hosted by Alan

FANTASTICO - Best day ever!

After flying in from Melbourne, Australia the evening before after a busy few months where we really, to be honest, had not had as much time to brush up on our Italian and research as we would have liked. The the day with Gerry was a perfect way to start a Roman Holiday. At a wonderfully relaxed pace we were able to see an amazing array of iconic spots, without the constant checking of maps and following your phone, whilst chatting about all things Rome - history, food, culture, wine, politics and not to forget religion - you are in the eternal city after all. Gerry also took us to great off the tourist map sites and pointed out several areas to get back to on our own later. Gerry is a great host/guide and has a wonderful ability to impart a wealth of information in a very relaxed manner over a short period of time. If we were staying longer we would definitely ask Gerry for further explorations Grazie per il tempo fantastico Gerry

January 2020

Reviewed by Andrew & Belinda G , hosted by Gerry

Discover the non-touristy spots with Gerry

We spent 2 days with Gerry, on a food tour followed by a walking tour. Gerry shared a lot of history with us on Rome as well as bringing us to non touristy spots/sights to view some of the most beautiful monuments. Gerry is a very friendly host and he planned our tours checking with us constantly to ensure we are comfortable as well as providing additional great suggestions on the places/museums/churches we want to visit.

January 2020

Reviewed by Alyssa L , hosted by Gerry

Great host and great walk

Yujin was very easygoing host, flexible with our demands and needs, showed us everything we wanted to see.

January 2020

Reviewed by Marek T , hosted by Yujin

First visit in Seoul

For my first visit in Seoul I got the private guide tour with Jiwan. A trip to remember and the best way to get to know the city and culture

January 2020

Reviewed by Arild R , hosted by Jiwan

Half day in London with a local

Bellissima passeggiata per le vie di Londra, percorrendo le principali vie del centro attraverso i suoi monumenti e la sua storia. Valentina la nostra guida è stata davvero molto brava: molto preparata e simpatica ha reso il tour unico e affascinante.

January 2020

Reviewed by Daniela G , hosted by Valentina

Featured in

Subscribe now and thank us later

Get travel tips from our hosts across the
world plus exclusive offers and discounts

Any questions?

If you’re unsure about anything you can
reach us on any of these channels.

Back to top