The best moments from our happy travellers

Experiencing a city through the eyes of a host can make the difference between a nice trip and an unforgettable one. Every review below is submitted by a real City Unscripted guest.

“WOW WOW WOW! We had a 10-hour private tour of Hong Kong with Victor and it was truly amazing. In addition to the usual tourist sites that we asked to see, he had a bevy of suggested stops along the way. Many “hidden gems” indeed, places we would never have thought of. From the lunch suggestion (a tiny noodle place jammed with locals, the only tourists being us), to the various markets, to the hilltop views, and the public housing projects, we saw parts of HK we wouldn’t have imagined.”

Review by Rick P
March 2019

“Olga was superb! A+ She was on time and flowed so easily with a deep knowledge of Amsterdam's incredible history and its notable sites, monuments and art installations. I requested to see as much as possible and we covered the entire city center, on foot; in about 6 hours. It's really something to feel that confident and relaxed in a foreign city!! Olga was my best friend for a day... and I'll never forget her or beautiful Amsterdam!”

Reviewed by Colin K
March 2019

“My 12 year old daughter and I went on a restaurant tasting tour with Myriam and were absolutely blown away. The food was incredible, but what made the day great was Myriam herself. She is a soulful person who clearly understands and loves the city of Paris. She took the time to get connected to what we wanted to experience and led us to places that both surprised and delighted us. My daughter now has a deeper love for Paris and we have a new family friend. We cannot recommend Myriam highly enough!”

Reviewed by Donte H
March 2019

“We were privileged to share two days with Noriko exploring Tokyo. Intelligent, intuitive, well traveled, yet a native of Tokyo, Noriko was the perfect guide. Her wealth of knowledge about the past and current events in the city was just what we needed. She took us to the sites we requested, always offering great tips and suggestions of what to see and experience in the vast city. Noriko is a delight and after only two days, we felt like friends. This is the only way to go! No bus tours and shopping excursions. Your precious time will be spent just as you like.”

Reviewed by Robin B
March 2019

“I carefully scoured the internet examining several Mexico City food tours. It was important to me that we try the unique hidden gems, and small family places, that really show the true flavor and character of Mexico. Roberto Vilchis not only surpassed my culinary hopes, but is also an extremely knowledgeable guide and super-nice, energetic guy! And, where guidebooks and personal recommendations boasted about the best carnitas in the city, Roberto introduced us to a particular spot that actually serves carnitas tacos with the bone still loosely attached to the meat. I can’t wait to return to Mexico City and have Roberto resume our culinary adventures!”

Reviewed by Jim S
February 2019

Happy Travellers

Bologna with a Local: Customized Private Meet-Up 4hrs

Giacomo did his best to show us all the important sights of his wonderful city and also gave us useful recommendations for the next days. It was a perfect afternoon, very sympathetic and friendly and well informed tour guide.

December 2019

Reviewed by Michaela , hosted by Giacomo

Fantastic Experience

From the first contact from City Unscripted and throughout the whole experience it was excellent. I highly recommend using them and will wherever I travel. They contacted me right after booking and then my guide contacted right before the tour. Our tour guide was Stefano. He was so excellent and I would highly recommend him. What he shared will help every time I travel to Europe. He is really a fantastic guide. If you planning this, I would recommend doing it early in the trip as Stefano showed us many places we would have liked to investigate further. We did it the day before the end of our Holiday. The way that City Unscripted does these tours/experiences is top notch - just fantastic.

December 2019

Reviewed by Lawrence R , hosted by Stefano

New York in italiano!

Siamo un gruppo di amiche e questo era il nostro primo giorno a New York . La nostra host Paola è venuta a prenderci all´hotel e ci ha portato in giro per tutta la mattina. Purtroppo la giornata era piovosa e ventosa, ma è stata ugualmente molto interessante. Paola ci ha aiutato a fare l´abbonamento per la metropolitana e ci ha spiegato come funziona, ci ha portato a vedere la Grand Central Station, il nuovo quartiere di Hudson Yards, con i grattacieli che si perdevano nella nebbia, il Greenwich Village con i suoi locali caratteristici, Soho, Little Italy e Chinatown. Inoltre ci ha dato consigli e suggerimenti per i giorni successivi con grande gentilezza e disponibilità . Grazie Paola, siamo state molto bene con te!

December 2019

Reviewed by Ivana A , hosted by Your Perfect Local

Tokyo Private Tour: Shibuya to Harajuku

Mon guide qui parlait en anglais a tenu compte de mes souhaits en modifiant le sens de la visite avec un crochet à la Fondation Louis Vuitton pour voir l'exposition de Christian Boltansky comme je le souhaitais. J'ai aimé le fait que l'on laisse la foule pour prendre un chemin plus "confidentiel" avec la rue des créateurs…

December 2019

Reviewed by Sylvie P , hosted by Kenji

Bangkok´s Chinatown

Had been to Bangkok many times but never visited Chinatown so we decided to use City Unscripted to book a private tour. Our guide, Kumpirada (Kat), met us at our hotel on time and ready to go. We used local transportation (which we really like to do) to get to and from Chinatown and Kat paid for everything. We arrive a little after 4 PM and visited the Golden Buddah and walked the main and some side streets in the daylight. Kat explained that the area transforms after dark and was she right. Street vendors set up stalls everywhere and Kat encouraged us to enjoy some of the food which we did. Kat paid for everything and the local foods we tried were fantastic. On our own we would have never tried the food but are really glad we did. This tour added to our Bangkok experience and would recommend it to everyone.

December 2019

Reviewed by Fred B , hosted by Kumpirada

Eat like a local in Seoul

Ben did a great job showing us around Seoul and treating us to some interesting food. There is much more to the tour than just food, and Ben took some great photos which he later shared with us. We were a little jet lagged, but the evening was terrific! Thanks, Ben!

December 2019

Reviewed by Robert B , hosted by Ben

Featured in

Subscribe now and thank us later

Get travel tips from our hosts across the
world plus exclusive offers and discounts

Any questions?

If you’re unsure about anything you can
reach us on any of these channels.

Back to top