The best moments from our happy travellers

Experiencing a city through the eyes of a host can make the difference between a nice trip and an unforgettable one. Every review below is submitted by a real City Unscripted guest.

“WOW WOW WOW! We had a 10-hour private tour of Hong Kong with Victor and it was truly amazing. In addition to the usual tourist sites that we asked to see, he had a bevy of suggested stops along the way. Many “hidden gems” indeed, places we would never have thought of. From the lunch suggestion (a tiny noodle place jammed with locals, the only tourists being us), to the various markets, to the hilltop views, and the public housing projects, we saw parts of HK we wouldn’t have imagined.”

Review by Rick P
March 2019

“Olga was superb! A+ She was on time and flowed so easily with a deep knowledge of Amsterdam's incredible history and its notable sites, monuments and art installations. I requested to see as much as possible and we covered the entire city center, on foot; in about 6 hours. It's really something to feel that confident and relaxed in a foreign city!! Olga was my best friend for a day... and I'll never forget her or beautiful Amsterdam!”

Reviewed by Colin K
March 2019

“My 12 year old daughter and I went on a restaurant tasting tour with Myriam and were absolutely blown away. The food was incredible, but what made the day great was Myriam herself. She is a soulful person who clearly understands and loves the city of Paris. She took the time to get connected to what we wanted to experience and led us to places that both surprised and delighted us. My daughter now has a deeper love for Paris and we have a new family friend. We cannot recommend Myriam highly enough!”

Reviewed by Donte H
March 2019

“We were privileged to share two days with Noriko exploring Tokyo. Intelligent, intuitive, well traveled, yet a native of Tokyo, Noriko was the perfect guide. Her wealth of knowledge about the past and current events in the city was just what we needed. She took us to the sites we requested, always offering great tips and suggestions of what to see and experience in the vast city. Noriko is a delight and after only two days, we felt like friends. This is the only way to go! No bus tours and shopping excursions. Your precious time will be spent just as you like.”

Reviewed by Robin B
March 2019

“I carefully scoured the internet examining several Mexico City food tours. It was important to me that we try the unique hidden gems, and small family places, that really show the true flavor and character of Mexico. Roberto Vilchis not only surpassed my culinary hopes, but is also an extremely knowledgeable guide and super-nice, energetic guy! And, where guidebooks and personal recommendations boasted about the best carnitas in the city, Roberto introduced us to a particular spot that actually serves carnitas tacos with the bone still loosely attached to the meat. I can’t wait to return to Mexico City and have Roberto resume our culinary adventures!”

Reviewed by Jim S
February 2019

Happy Travellers

HONG KONG, FULL DAY IN HONG KONG WITH A LOCALWai Lok

4.9 average | 57 reviews

August 2019

Fabulous time and highly recommended

We had a fabulous time, during Hong Kong off the usual paths. Victor showed us the city from a real local perspective, sharing not only the glamorous but also the city’s challenging sides. Given the current tensions and uncertainties, his insights gave us a point of view that usually one is unaware of. His profound knowledge of history and today’s headlines allows you to explore the city from a perspective that is valuable to both, newcomers as well as frequent guests of one of the world’s most exciting cities. Thank you for sharing your knowledge and for a great day.

Review by Tino D

KYOTO, VISIT ARASHIYAMA'S BAMBOO GROVETaibi

5 average | 20 reviews

August 2019

Amazing Tour with a Local

Taibi started out as a guide and ended up like family! He’s very knowledgeable about Kyoto and made sure to take me off the beaten path, which is exactly what I wanted. Highly recommended!

Review by Zena D

LONDON, HALF DAY IN LONDON WITH A LOCALGessica

5 average | 6 reviews

August 2019

Thank you for the happy memories

Gessica is a lovely young woman who has acquired a general knowledge of London through her student days. She is adaptable as to tour locations, and can ensure that you see what you particularly want to explore. I enjoyed my tour of Regent, Oxford and Carnaby streets with lunch at the Old George Inn. You will also gain much needed confidence in getting around by Underground during your stay in London.

Review by Guest -

PARIS, HALF A DAY LIKE A PARISIANKaja

5 average | 4 reviews

August 2019

Fantastic Five Star Tour Your Way!!!!!

Kaja was fabulous in every aspect as she was tremendously knowledgeable (very impressive memory of dates in history) and expertly catered our tour to our interests. It was so nice to have a personal guide to chat with along the way. Kaja shared many favorite places to go to above and beyond our expectations. Would recommend highly to anyone wanting a personalized and relaxed tour of Paris. Thank you so very much Kaja for a magnificent day!!!

Review by Michelle D

SEOUL, EAT LIKE A LOCAL IN SEOULBen

5 average | 25 reviews

August 2019

Loved every minute!

I was a little nervous travelling to Seoul alone but Ben not only has amazing knowledge of good food but also a very nice person. We tried delicious local eats, traditional Korean tea, friend chicken at a local store and some sight seeing as well. It was a very well balanced tour of local eats and getting a cultural taste of Korea. Highly recommend it to everyone!

Review by Rooh C

PARIS, FULL DAY IN PARIS WITH A LOCALMarie

5 average | 18 reviews

August 2019

Best decision we made for our Paris trip

We arrived on our flight from NY to Paris on a Monday morning. Shortly after arrival we met Marie at out hotel. We knew she would be there as we had exchanged contact info and sent messages that morning. Marie took us on a personalized guided tour and answered all of our questions about the Paris culture. Marie is so sweet and showed us the metro, the best places to get crepes, and many other local secrets. Having her as our guide took away all the stress about what people expect from an American in Paris. We were able to see so much more with her help that doing it on our own. Book Marie now, it is a no brainer

Review by Bob W

Happy Hosts

Anna

Amsterdam, Netherlands Anna

  • (15 reviews)

"I love that no experience is ever the same even when the route is similar. Meeting new people, getting to know about their lives and seeing Amsterdam through their eyes is enriching. I don’t only share my passion and knowledge for the city I also receive genuine emotions and feedback. To my guests I always try to be like a friend who shows them around Amsterdam, while at the same time I feel like I'm being visited by friends."


View host
Michaela

Edinburgh, United Kingdom Michaela


"I love meeting new people and showing them around this awesome city. I remember how intimidating it was getting around when I first came to Edinburgh. There are just way too many cool things to do and see, and I love helping people enjoy it without worrying because I have spent a ton of time wandering and getting lost so that they don't have to!"


View host
Tarek

Tokyo, Japan Tarek


"The joy & wonder of people visiting a new country for the first time is priceless, and to play a small part in enhancing their experience with guidance tailored specifically to their needs makes for rewarding work."


View host

Featured in

Subscribe now and thank us later

Get travel tips from our hosts across the
world plus exclusive offers and discounts

Any questions?

If you’re unsure about anything you can
reach us on any of these channels.