The best moments from our happy travellers

Experiencing a city through the eyes of a host can make the difference between a nice trip and an unforgettable one. Every review below is submitted by a real City Unscripted guest.

“WOW WOW WOW! We had a 10-hour private tour of Hong Kong with Victor and it was truly amazing. In addition to the usual tourist sites that we asked to see, he had a bevy of suggested stops along the way. Many “hidden gems” indeed, places we would never have thought of. From the lunch suggestion (a tiny noodle place jammed with locals, the only tourists being us), to the various markets, to the hilltop views, and the public housing projects, we saw parts of HK we wouldn’t have imagined.”

Review by Rick P
March 2019

“Olga was superb! A+ She was on time and flowed so easily with a deep knowledge of Amsterdam's incredible history and its notable sites, monuments and art installations. I requested to see as much as possible and we covered the entire city center, on foot; in about 6 hours. It's really something to feel that confident and relaxed in a foreign city!! Olga was my best friend for a day... and I'll never forget her or beautiful Amsterdam!”

Reviewed by Colin K
March 2019

“My 12 year old daughter and I went on a restaurant tasting tour with Myriam and were absolutely blown away. The food was incredible, but what made the day great was Myriam herself. She is a soulful person who clearly understands and loves the city of Paris. She took the time to get connected to what we wanted to experience and led us to places that both surprised and delighted us. My daughter now has a deeper love for Paris and we have a new family friend. We cannot recommend Myriam highly enough!”

Reviewed by Donte H
March 2019

“We were privileged to share two days with Noriko exploring Tokyo. Intelligent, intuitive, well traveled, yet a native of Tokyo, Noriko was the perfect guide. Her wealth of knowledge about the past and current events in the city was just what we needed. She took us to the sites we requested, always offering great tips and suggestions of what to see and experience in the vast city. Noriko is a delight and after only two days, we felt like friends. This is the only way to go! No bus tours and shopping excursions. Your precious time will be spent just as you like.”

Reviewed by Robin B
March 2019

“I carefully scoured the internet examining several Mexico City food tours. It was important to me that we try the unique hidden gems, and small family places, that really show the true flavor and character of Mexico. Roberto Vilchis not only surpassed my culinary hopes, but is also an extremely knowledgeable guide and super-nice, energetic guy! And, where guidebooks and personal recommendations boasted about the best carnitas in the city, Roberto introduced us to a particular spot that actually serves carnitas tacos with the bone still loosely attached to the meat. I can’t wait to return to Mexico City and have Roberto resume our culinary adventures!”

Reviewed by Jim S
February 2019

Happy Travellers

OSAKABrice

5 average | 22 reviews

October 2019

Authentic and fun food tour

We had a brilliant evening with Brice on our Osaka food tour, exploring places we would have never discovered ourselves. The food and drink were delicious! It was informative too, we discovered and learnt so much about Osaka.

Review by Barbara F

TOKYO, MUST SEE TOKYO WITH A LOCAL TWISTDania

5 average | 5 reviews

October 2019

Great time!

Dania is very professional and a great person, thanks so much!

Review by Carlos P

OSAKABrice

5 average | 22 reviews

October 2019

Streetfood experience Osaka

Brice treated us very professionally throughout the experience, from his first presentation via email to the end of the evening. Brice has a very good knowledge of Japan and especially Osaka as a city, its history and food. We walked through narrow streets that you would normally never pass as a tourist and he guided us around the city center as if it were his own backyard. This evening was a very well spend time and money. I can highly recommend Brice for your experience of Osaka.

Review by Magnus N

TOKYO, KICKSTART YOUR TRIP TO TOKYONina

5 average | 1 reviews

October 2019

Best way to start our Japan adventure

Spent three hours with Nina today, and my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed it! She helped us get more acclimated with the train system, showed us some intriguing neighborhoods and sites, and talked with us about the Japanese culture. We ended our time together by going to the top of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government building. The view was mind-blowing! Nina was outstanding. We’re so glad we took this personalized tour, and highly recommend it.

Review by Rob T

SEOUL, HALF DAY IN SEOUL WITH A LOCALBen

5 average | 31 reviews

October 2019

Food, Language, Culture!

Ben was absolutely fantastic! Booked for 4hrs with less than desirable weather (unusually persistent rain!) but we still had a great time. Highlights were: A local market for Korean pancakes; the President’s residence (complete with loud demonstrations from opposing political parties); tour the of the old city walls, creek, and the Dongdaemun Design Plaza; and Lunch at a soft tofu restaurant in Gangnam with sparkling rice wine (Makgeolli!). Ben took a ton of pictures, helped me with my horrible Korean, and made sure the cab had the correct address before sending me off. Thank you Ben!

Review by Josh K

TOKYO, KICKSTART YOUR TRIP TO TOKYOPatrick

5 average | 14 reviews

October 2019

An excellent guide in a huge city

We were delighted to be guided round the city (or a small part of it) by Patrick, who listened carefully to what we wanted to do and then walked with us and chatted throughout. We were able to ask questions, navigate the rail system, visit less well known shrines and preserved homes and really get the best out of our time. Patrick offered several suggestions for the remainder of our trip and followed up with emailed maps and trip ideas. A friendly, approachable and well-informed guide. We highly recommend Patrick. Thank you.

Review by Aileen R

Happy Hosts

Anna

Anna Amsterdam, Netherlands

(21 reviews) View host

"I love that no experience is ever the same even when the route is similar. Meeting new people, getting to know about their lives and seeing Amsterdam through their eyes is enriching. I don’t only share my passion and knowledge for the city I also receive genuine emotions and feedback. To my guests I always try to be like a friend who shows them around Amsterdam, while at the same time I feel like I'm being visited by friends."


Michaela

Michaela Edinburgh, United Kingdom

View host

"I love meeting new people and showing them around this awesome city. I remember how intimidating it was getting around when I first came to Edinburgh. There are just way too many cool things to do and see, and I love helping people enjoy it without worrying because I have spent a ton of time wandering and getting lost so that they don't have to!"


Tarek

Tarek Tokyo, Japan

(6 reviews) View host

"The joy & wonder of people visiting a new country for the first time is priceless, and to play a small part in enhancing their experience with guidance tailored specifically to their needs makes for rewarding work."


Featured in

Subscribe now and thank us later

Get travel tips from our hosts across the
world plus exclusive offers and discounts

Any questions?

If you’re unsure about anything you can
reach us on any of these channels.

Back to top