Claire

Great For
Food & Drink, High-end travellers, Off-the-beaten-path, Senior travellers, Solo travellers, Children and families, Young adults
Vetted Locals
We handpick and interview all our Hosts to ensure they meet our strict acceptance criteria
Local Insights
Our hosts know their city very well and can share insights, tips and stories that a guidebook can't
100% Personalised
No cookie-cutter tours. Our Hosts plan experiences around what you want to see and do.
Real Authenticity
Our Locals host visitors in their spare time because they love sharing their city and meeting new people.

About me

I was born in Amsterdam and have always loved the buzz. Amsterdam has such a vibrant and colourful energy about it. I lived and worked in different areas during different stages of my life. I enjoyed being a student in the center as well as working in the exiting area of multimedia; the company I worked for was situated in an old hidden church on one of the canals! There are so many interesting places in Amsterdam to discover. In 1999 I moved to Ireland for 14 years. There I studied theatre, improvisation, storytelling and puppetry. Later I performed and taught children and adults to improvise and play creatively, which was brilliant. Empowerment through the arts was always my target and in 2010 I came across a coaching modality (verbal and hands on sessions). Since then I give sessions and workshops. All the while Amsterdam kept calling me back. So 3 years ago I finally listened and here I am in Amsterdam again. I love people! Being with and talking to people is easy and fun for me. From children to elderly people and everything in between. I am easy going, always in for a laugh and interested in other ways of looking at things. Has this person from this place different points of view than that person? People fascinate me! Would you like to go on an adventure of your choosing (with my input of course) in AMsterdam? How much fun can we have? How does it get better than that?

Languages

English, Dutch

My Interests

Walking or bicycling around the city., Sitting outside a cafe in the Vondelpark or Leidseplein and watching all the life around me., Going to shows, comedy stand up, movies, festivals., Wandering around the 2nd hand shops and the little shops in the old neighborhoods., Going to museums, galleries and exhibitions.

Total: EUR
per adult

How it works

icon

1. find and book

Find and book an experience or browse our Host's profiles and book your favourite one directly

icon

2. tell us about you

We'll send a questionnaire to find out more about you, the places and things you want to see and the type of experience you're after

icon

3. chat & plan

We'll match you to your ideal Host (if you didn't book one directly) and they'll contact you to plan your personalised experience.

icon

4. explore together

Meet up and explore the city together. Experience the things and places that locals love and which make the city unique

My most exciting things to do in Amsterdam

Finding places of beauty; architecture, natural, hidden and obvious.

People who viewed Claire also viewed these hosts

Not sure which Local to book? We know each of our Locals individually, so leave it to us to find the Local who best matches your interests, personality and requirements. Simply book below and we’ll be in touch within 24 hours to find out more about you so we can choose a like-minded Local who can create an experience in Amsterdam that you will love. Alternatively, contact us directly at bookings@cityunscripted.com to let us know the proposed details of your trip so we can find the perfect Local for you!

  • Your Perfect Local Is Great For

    Food & Drink, High-end travellers, LGBTQ, Off-the-beaten-path, Nightlife, Senior travellers, Solo travellers, Children and families, Young adults

  • Languages

    English, French, Spanish, Arabic, Mandarin, Korean, Japanese, Hindi, Italian, German, Dutch, Many Others

Hallo there! I am half mexican and half dutch, i have lived in many countries like Germany, Italy and now in the Netherlands, i am 39 years old,i work as a tourist guide in Amsterdam, I am very sociable, easy and outgoing,passionate in what i do, love enjoying people around me, love art and culture, in few words I enjoy life.

  • Alejandro Is Great For

    Food & Drink, High-end travellers, Off-the-beaten-path, Senior travellers, Solo travellers, Children and families

  • Languages

    English, Spanish, german,italian,dutch

I am Eduardo, I born at the beautiful city of Santiago of Chile, where I grew up and studied in a quite international family (my father and all his side of the family were Spanish immigrants at Chile). I start my travels when I was 23 years old, being Peru, Cusco and Machu Picchu my first experience. After that, I decided to discover, first, my own country, living and working in different remote places as Torres del Paine at the Chilean Patagonia, the Atacama desert, the Lake district and ski spots nearby Santiago. My appetite for discovering new places was huge, which motivate me to see, now, South america. After seeing these wild nature a new idea got in my head. The people experience which took me straight in Europe. After a few years here I had the chance to see Spain, France, Estonia, Hungary, Czech Republic, Portugal and The Netherlands where I live already since 2009. I bike every where in this beautiful city of Amsterdam, therefore I could take you to places that most of people do not know.

  • Eduardo Is Great For

    Business travellers, Children and families, Food & Drink, High-end travellers, History and culture, LGBTQ, Nightlife, Off-the-beaten-path, Parks and nature, Senior travellers, Solo travellers, Young adults

  • Languages

    English, Spanish, Portuguese

Just hop on my bike and explore the city, it is a great feeling and activity not only I can do a good amount of excersize, but to get to know the city! Checking out the new/established galleries are always interesting things to do for me, aside with spending time for my own art making. I can introduce the art and culture of Amsterdam :)

  • Ai Is Great For

    Food & Drink, High-end travellers, Off-the-beaten-path, Solo travellers

  • Languages

    English, Japanese

Claire's Instagram

How many hours should you book?

Following is a brief guide to help you decide how many hours to book your Host for

1 hr
Perfect for advice or a short exploration
  • Meet your Host for a coffee anywhere in the city or at your hotel and get advice on things to do and see during your stay
  • Explore a small area or street of the city to get insider insights and advice from your Host
2 hr
Perfect for exploring a small area of the city
  • Explore a mainstream area of the city to see the main tourist sites but also to discover hidden gems that most tourists miss
  • Discover an "off the beaten path" area of the city loved by locals and get a feel for what makes the city so special
3 hr
-4 hr
Perfect for exploring a larger area of the city or an in-depth discovery of smaller area
  • Visit some of the main tourist sites, get insider insights from your Host and discover hidden gems along the way
  • Focus on a specific neighbourhood or larger area of the city, discover its streets and places locals frequent and get a real insight into what really makes the city beat
  • Explore an area of the city that offers interesting things to see and do day and night and stop for a drink at some of the best bars along the way
  • Visit a child friendly area of the city and have time for the kids to run around and explore any interesting shops and attractions. Get advice from your Host on child friendly places to eat and visit during your stay
5 hr
-6 hr
Perfect for exploring 2 or 3 areas of the city
  • See all or most of the main tourist sites in different locations of the city, stop for a drink or quick lunch at a cafe or restaurant recommended by your Host and based on what you like, get insider insights and discover hidden gems along the way
  • Mix it! Visit some of the main tourist sites and then go off to explore an off the beaten path neighbourhood loved by locals. Stop for a drink or quick lunch along the way
  • Choose a theme such as food discovery, best markets, vintage shopping, music scene, trendy scene, history, art etc and let your Host plan an outing across several areas of the city covering the best of your chosen theme
7 hr
-8+ hr
Perfect for spending a day experiencing the best of what the city has to offer based on your interests
  • Give your Host a list of all the places you want to visit and things you want to do and let him/her plan an outing that makes the most of your time including organising tickets to attractions etc.
  • See all the main tourist sites in different locations of the city, stop for lunch at a cafe or restaurant recommended by your Host, have time to pop into any shops, galleries or places of interest along the way, get insider insights and discover hidden gems
  • Mix it! Visit the main tourist sites and then go off to explore one or more off the beaten path neighbourhoods loved by locals. Stop for lunch or dinner and drinks along the way